Recent arts-related appointments

Gov. Sean Parnell has reappointed Aldean Kilbourn and Page Brannon to the Advisory Council on Libraries, and welcomed Barrow’s David Ongley to a seat on the council reserved for the past president of the Alaska Library Association. The panel advises the State Library administration on the development and evaluation of library services and the federal Library Services and Technology Act plan.


Kilbourn, of Fairbanks, is a career educator and a part-time librarian at the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute. Kilbourn is reappointed to a seat reserved for a library user.

Brannon, of Anchorage, has been an assistant professor of library science at the University of Alaska Anchorage since 2006. She is reappointed to a seat reserved for an academic library representative nominated by the Alaska Library Association.

Ongley, of Barrow, is joining the Advisory Council on Libraries in his capacity as past president of the Alaska Library Association. Ongley has served as the director of the Tuzzy Consortium Library since 1996.

Gov. Parnell has also appointed Christa Bruce-Kotrc to the Alaska Humanities Forum. The forum develops programs and projects, establishes policy, procures resources to support programs and projects, reviews grant proposals, and encourages public interest in the humanities.

Bruce-Kotrc, of Ketchikan, works for Peace Health of Ketchikan Foundation, although she spent most of her career as a teacher and retired from the Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District. Bruce-Kotrc was a Fulbright Fellow in administration in the Czech Republic and completed graduate studies at the Peabody Conservatory of Music and Lincoln College, Oxford, United Kingdom. Bruce-Kotrc is appointed to a public seat.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more