• Broken clouds
  • 59°
    Broken clouds
  • Syndicate content
  • Comment

49 writers recognized by Alaska Center for the Book

Posted: July 20, 2011 - 7:11pm  |  Updated: July 22, 2011 - 1:34pm

The Alaska Center for the Book has named two recipients of this year’s Contributors to Literacy in Alaska award: 49 Writers and Emilie Swenning of Nanwaiek. The CLIA Awards recognize individuals and institutions who have made a significant contribution in literacy, the literary arts, or the preservation of the written or spoken word in Alaska.

49 Writers is an Anchorage based blog. literary hub and statewide resource created by Deb Vanasse and Andromeda Romano-Lax. The 49 Writers site features posts by both women, as well as by many guest writers. The group also organizes writing workshops and courses, retreats, readings and offers support for writers throughout the state.

The group was selected from among applications sent in from across the state.

Emilie Swenning of Nanwalek, was also recognized for her work in establishing a library of more than 2,000 books for her community. Swenning also created a Imagination Library to provide free books to kids under 5, and has laid the groundwork for Nanawiek to create a library for all ages.

The Alaska Center for the Book is an affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, and is a nonprofit, all-volunteer organization. It was founded in 1991 to stimulate public interest in literacy throughout Alaska through the spoken and written word.

  • Comment


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback