Kachemak Bay Writers' Conference opens registration

The Kachemak Bay Campus of Kenai Peninsula College-University of Alaska Anchorage recently announced that registration is now open for the upcoming 2012 Kachemak Bay Writers’ Conference, to be held June 8-12 at Land’s End Resort in Homer. This year’s keynote presenter will be National Book Award winner Barry Lopez.


The conference will feature 17 other nationally recognized authors, editors and agents who will conduct creative writing workshops, readings, craft talks and panel presentations in fiction, nonfiction, poetry and the business of writing. Optional activities include =manuscript reviews, editor-agent consultations, receptions, a boat cruise and open mic. The evening readings June 9-12 by visiting writers and conference registrants will be open to the general public at no charge.

A special post-conference writing workshop will be held at Kachemak Bay Wilderness Lodge for conference registrants.

Conference faculty will be Elizabeth Dodd, Camille Dungy, James Engelhardt, Daryl Farmer, Debra Gwartney, Valerie Miner, Dan O’Neill, Ann Pancake, Don Rearden, Jim Rutman, Eva Saulitis, Jeffrey Shotts. Sherry Simpson, Nancy Lord, Alaska State Writer Laureate Peggy Shumaker, Sherry Simpson and Amber Flora Thomas.

The early registration fee is $350, space available. Advanced registration is required. There is also a special UA admitted student rate.

Major conference benefactors include Alaska Humanities Forum, Alaska State Council on the Arts, First National Bank Alaska, Era Aviation, Kachemak Bay Campus-Kenai Peninsula College, Land’s End Resort, University of Alaska’s BP/ConocoPhillips Fund- UA Vice President, UAA, Usibelli Foundation, and many individual donors.

For program and registration information see writersconference.homer.alaska.edu.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more