Alaskana Award nominations due Jan. 13

This year’s nominations for the Alaskana Award, honoring writing about Alaska, will be accepted through Jan. 13.


The Alaskana Award was established in 1994 to honor outstanding adult fiction and nonfiction works about Alaska published in any format. Works that will be considered make a significant contribution to the understanding of Alaska; exhibit originality, depth of research and knowledge of Alaska; and have been published in the calendar year preceding the Alaska Library Association conference at which the award will be presented.

The author is not required to be an Alaskan resident.

Information to include in the nomination:

• Author, title, place of publication, publisher, and date of publication

• Full description of the work being nominated

• Statement of the overall impact of the publication

Supporting documentation should include critical testimony, such as published reviews or specially written letters that evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the nomination which will aid the review process.

Nominations must be received by Jan. 13. E-mail to: Teressa Williams at

For more information, contact Jim Simard at 465-2926


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more