Rasmuson Foundation now accepting Individual Artist Award applications

Calling all Alaskan artists: Rasmuson Foundation just opened the application period for its annual Individual Artist Awards grant program. The awards are designed to support Alaskan artists at various stages in their careers and creative development working in many artistic disciplines.


New this year, the field of presentation and interpretation was added to the fellowship category, opening the award to actors, dancers, musicians, vocalists and other performance artists.

The foundation awarded more than $230,000 in last year’s Individual Artist Awards program, and expects to make a similar number of awards in 2012.

Applications may be filed online on the Rasmuson Foundation website and must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. March 1, or sent by mail and postmarked by March 1, 2012.

Since 2004, the Individual Artist Awards program has awarded 232 grants, totaling nearly $1.7 million, directly to Alaska artists. Every year, at least one artist from Juneau has been selected.

Rasmuson Foundation created the Individual Artist Awards to foster the growth of serious artists, helping them continue to create, experiment and contribute art to Alaska communities. Eligible applicants are Alaska residents of two or more years who have not won an Individual Artist Award in the past three years and are 18 years or older. Interested applicants can receive more information and apply online at www.rasmuson.org.

Awards are available in three different programs: project awards of up to $5,000 meant for artists with short-term project needs; artist fellowship awards of up to $12,000 for mid-career and mature artists to advance their career; and, an unrestricted $25,000 distinguished artist award in recognition of creative excellence and superior accomplishments.

Additional information is also available by calling 907-297-2700 or 877-366-2700 (toll free in Alaska), or by writing the Rasmuson Foundation, 301 W Northern Lights Boulevard, Suite 300, Anchorage, Alaska 99503.

The Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more