Nominations open for literacy award

Nominations are now open for Contributions to Literacy in Alaska awards, a statewide effort to recognize people and agencies that support literature and literacy in the north.

The awards, presented annually by Alaska Center for the Book, honor individuals and institutions that have made a significant contribution to literacy efforts, to the literary arts, or for the preservation of the written or spoken word in Alaska. Award winners have included agencies, librarians, teachers, writers, libraries, tutors, bilingual programs, volunteers and others dedicated to making the world a better place through the gift of language. Last year’s winners were Nanwalek library advocate Emilie Swenning and the non-profit writers group 49 Writers.

CLIA nominations must be received in writing by Tuesday, May 15. Nomination forms are available at or by calling 907-786-4379.

Awards will be presented in July during the University of Alaska’s Northern Renaissance Arts and Sciences reading series, held in conjunction with UAA’s MFA program in Creative Writing.

Alaska Center for the Book is Alaska’s affiliate to the Library of Congress Center for the Book. The non-profit, all-volunteer board partners with literary, educational, arts and humanities organizations to host and sponsor events across the state, including Reading Rendezvous and Letters About Literature.


Wed, 01/18/2017 - 00:02

32nd Annual Legislative Welcome Reception, Wednesday, Jan. 18, 5-6:30 p.m., Centennial Hall Convention Center. Baby Raven Reads and Juneau Public Library family night, Thursday, Jan. 19, 5:30 - 7 p.m., downtown Juneau Public Library. Read more

Juneau to have sixth annual Project Homeless Connect

Every year, the Juneau Coalition on Housing & Homelessness puts on Project Homeless Connect, a free event that serves as a one-day, one-stop... Read more

PeaceHealth Medical Group to have ear, nose and throat specialist

Ketchikan to have new visiting ear, nose, throat specialist Ketchikan - Nathan Christensen, M.D., has joined PeaceHealth Medical Group in Ketchikan as a visiting ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialist. Read more

Wed, 01/18/2017 - 00:02

Haines duo to exhibit encaustic art

Haines duo to exhibit beach-themed encaustic art Haines­-Sam Jackson and Rebecca Brewer stumbled onto their new medium by accident. Read more


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback