Alaska State Museum receives 2012 Ross Merrill Award

Earlier this month, the Alaska State Museum was selected to receive the 2012 Ross Merrill Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Preservation and Care of Collections, given jointly by the American Institute for the Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works and Heritage Preservation.

Presented annually to museums for exemplary stewardship of the historic collections in their care, the Merrill Award recognizes the Alaska State Museum’s longstanding commitment to the preservation of its own of cultural property, as well as its dedication to assisting smaller cultural institutions across the state. Currently, the museum helps more than 80 Alaskan museums and cultural centers care for artifacts, in the form of preservation assessments, technical advice, artifact analysis, workshops, equipment loans and funding, among other services. All told, the ASM conducts approximately 800 consults a year.

Merrill Award judges specifically praised the museum for maintaining a full-time conservator since 1976, as well as storage protocols, treatment planning and employment of modern conservation practices to the benefit of its collections and smaller institutions in Alaska.

“The museum’s dedication to preserving artifacts is a sustained one,” said Scott Carrlee, ASM Curator of Museum Services. “While we are accepting this award today, in 2012, we accept it on behalf of all the conservators and directors who have worked toward preserving Alaska’s history over the last three-and-a-half decades.”

Summer hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. daily. Summer admission is $7 with a $1 discount for seniors. Visitors 18 and under are admitted free of charge.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more