Rasmuson Foundation to announce this year’s artists’ awards Tuesday

What do a Rap musician from Anchorage, a poet from Fairbanks and a photographer from Juneau have in common? They’re all soon to be recipients of a 2012 Individual Artist Award from Rasmuson Foundation.

Rasmuson Foundation will announce the winners of this year’s awards on Tuesday, June 5 (early word is that Juneau has more than one recipient in the group). This year, the foundation will award 26 Project Awards (up to $5,000), 10 Artist Fellowship Awards (up to $12,000) and one Distinguished Artist award (which provides $25,000 in unrestricted funds to the winner). Nearly all of this year’s winning artists, including the Distinguished Artist recipient, will be present at Tuesday’s announcement ceremony.

Following the live event in Anchorage, a virtual announcement of the Individual Artist Award winners will be made in Second Life.

This is the ninth year Rasmuson Foundation has funded Individual Artist Awards. These awards have provided nearly $1.9 million to 267 practicing Alaska artists, as a long-term investment into the arts and culture of Alaska, the vibrancy of its communities and to art itself.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback