• Overcast
  • 57°
  • Syndicate content
  • Comment

Youth Solo Competition to be held Wednesday

Posted: May 31, 2012 - 12:02am

The Juneau Symphony will host its annual Youth Solo Competition at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 6, at the Thunder Mountain High School auditorium. The competition is open to all young musicians in Southeast Alaska.

Grand prize winners will be featured as a guest artist with the Juneau Symphony during their 2012-13 concert season.

This year, eight musicians will compete in two divisions: Ethan Seid (violin), David Russell-Jensen (cello), Aaron Abella (oboe), David Miller (violin), Robert Newman (violin), Margaret Comstock (piano), Dugan McNutt (violin), and Lisa Eldridge (violin). The musicians must perform a memorized concerto with piano accompaniment. The competition will be judged by Kyle Wiley Pickett, Juneau Symphony music director and conductor; William Todd Hunt, Juneau Symphony resident conductor and Opera To Go artistic director; and Lisa Ibias, Juneau Symphony concertmaster. Winners will be announced immediately after the competition.

The Youth Solo Competition is free and open to the public. The Juneau Symphony encourages everyone to attend and support Southeast Alaska’s young musicians. A reception will follow in the Thunder Mountain High School commons.

For more information, visit www.juneausymphony.org.

  • Comment


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback