Winners of symphony's Youth Solo competition announced

The Juneau Symphony held its annual Youth Solo Competition June 6 on the Thunder Mountain High School stage. Eight young musicians from Southeast Alaska performed memorized concertos with piano accompaniment. The competition was judged by Juneau Symphony conductor Kyle Wiley Pickett, resident conductor William Todd Hunt and concertmistress Lisa Ibias.

In the senior division, top honors went to 17-year-old violinist David Miller, who played Mendelsssohn’s “Concerto in E Minor.” As the grand-prize winner, Miller will perform as a guest artist with the Juneau Symphony in January 2013 at their winter concert.

The junior division winner was 10-year-old Lisa Eldridge who played “Concerto in A Minor” by Vivaldi. She will perform her concerto next season with the Juneau Student Symphony. Both competition winners study violin in Juneau with teacher Gou Hua Xia.

The Juneau Symphony extended their congratulations to all of the musicians in the competition for their outstanding performances: Lisa Eldridge, Margaret Comstock, Dugan McNutt, Robert Newman, David Russell-Jensen, Ethan Seid, Aaron Abella and David Miller, and their thanks to music teachers Gou Hua Xia, Rick Trostel, Steve Tada, Lisa Miles, Jetta Whittaker, and Catherine Wilkins for helping Southeast Alaska’s young musicians reach their full potential. The symphony also thanked accompanists Sue Kazama, Laurie Clough and Rosie Humphery for donating their time and talents.

The annual Youth Solo Competition is open to all young musicians in Southeast Alaska.Applications for the 2013 competition will be available in March 2013.For more information visit


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more