Painter Fruits among winners chosen for All Alaska Juried Art Exhibition

Juneau artist Dan Fruits’ oil painting, “Chilkat Study,” is among the works selected for the Anchorage Museum’s prestigious “All Alaska Juried Art Exhibition.” The exhibit, which recognizes the contributions Alaska artists are making to the world of contemporary art, opened last week in Anchorage and comes to Juneau beginning March 18.


This year, the highly competitive biennial exhibition drew 479 submissions by 140 Alaska artists. Massachusetts-based juror Susan Cross selected 40 artworks by 27 different artists for the exhibition, focusing on artwork that reflects a powerful sense of place.

Cross awarded the $1,000 Juror’s Choice Award to Anchorage artist James Behlke for three charcoal on canvas works. The $500 recognition award was given to Klara Maisch of Fairbanks, and the $250 award was given to Asia Freeman of Homer.

“Alaska boasts a distinguished landscape tradition, both past and present, which is evident in the stunning paintings in the Anchorage Museum collection,” Cross said in a museum release. “Many of the artists selected seem to be responding to this history. … The result is an exciting and fertile dialogue about the Alaska wilderness and how it is represented.”

Fruits was the only Juneau artist selected.

The exhibition will be on view in Anchorage through Feb. 3. Then it will travel to the Alaska State Museum, (March 18-April 23) and the Bear Gallery in Fairbanks (May 4-31).

Cross is a curator at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art in North Adams. She also has curated for the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York City, and served as a juror for the Guggenheim’s prestigious Hugo Boss Prize.

In addition to Fruits, arists selected for the exhibit are: Peter Graziano, Anchorage; Asia Freeman, Homer; Chad Harpel, Eagle River (two pieces); Iris Sutton, Fairbanks; Susan Delgalvis, Anchorage; Sandra Sterling, Soldotna; Diane Melms, Anchorage; James Robson, Anchorage; John McCabe, Petersburg; David Rosenthal, Cordova (two pieces); Carol Lambert, Anchorage; Marilyn Lee, Ward Cove; John McCabe, Petersburg; Maygen Jannetta, Homer (two pieces); Kristin Link, Glennallen; Maria Shell, Anchorage; Duke Russell, Anchorage; Michele Suchland, Anchorage (two pieces); Asia Freeman, Homer (two pieces); Todd Sherman, Fairbanks (two pieces); Adam Ottavi-Schiesl, Ester; Cheryl Lyon, Anchorage; Susan Althens, Sutton; James Behlke, Anchorage (three pieces); Cheryl Lyon, Anchorage; Amy Reisland-Speer, Healy; Klara Maisch, Fairbanks (three pieces); Susan Bremner, Anchorage; and Benjamin Schleifman, Wasilla.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more