Nomination period still open for Alaska Library Association's annual Alaskana Award

The Alaskana Award Committee is accepting nominations for the Alaska Library Association’s annual Alaskana Award through Feb. 1.


The Alaskana Award was established in 1994 to honor outstanding adult fiction and nonfiction works about Alaska published in any format. Works that will be considered make a significant contribution to the understanding of Alaska; exhibit originality, depth of research and knowledge of Alaska; and have been published in the calendar year preceding the Alaska Library Association conference at which the award will be presented.

The following information should be included in nominations:

• author, title, place of publication, publisher and date of publication;

• full description of the work;

• statement of the overall impact of the publication;

• and supporting documentation, including critical testimony, such as published reviews or specially written letters that evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the nomination.

Send nominations to Teressa Williams at

For more information, contact Williams at 907-929-9236 or Jim Simard at 465-2926 or


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more