State Board appoints members of Museum Collections Advisory Committee

The State Board of Education & Early Development has named Bruce Merrell and David McMahan, both of Anchorage, to three-year terms on the Museum Collections Advisory Committee of the Alaska State Museums.

The committee advises the Alaska State Museum in Juneau and the Sheldon Jackson Museum in Sitka on acquisition policies, and it must approve purchases and donations valued at $5,000 or more and deaccessions from the permanent collections.

Bruce Merrell is a historical research consultant and former Alaska bibliographer for the Anchorage Public Library. He holds a bachelor’s degree in English from St. Olaf College and a master’s degree in library science from the University of Minnesota.

David McMahan is the Alaska State Archeologist and a Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer in the Alaska Department of Natural Resources. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in anthropology from the University of Tennessee.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more