State Arts Council awards nearly $45,000 in grants

The Alaska State Council on the Arts awarded more than $44,900 in grants to Alaska artists and arts organizations in its third funding quarter of the year.


Here’s a quick look at the recipients.

Community Arts Development Grants: Artchange, Inc., Sitka ($2,500); Cyrano’s Theatre Company, Anchorage ($4,000); Institute of the North, Anchorage ($2,000); Kachemak Bay Writers Conference, Homer ($4,000); Kodiak Arts Council, Kodiak ($4,500); Performing Arts Society, Kenai ($2,750); Valley Arts Alliance, Palmer ($4,000).

Career Opportunity Grants: Christine Byl, Denali Park ($900); Linda Ketchum, Anchorage ($900); Enzina Marrari, Anchorage ($900); Melissa Mencini, Anchorage ($900); Rebecca Poulson, Sitka ($600).

Walker Arts Grants: Alaska Theatre of Youth, Anchorage ($1,000); Kenai Performers, Kenai ($860).

Master Artist and Apprentice in Traditional Native Arts Grants: Jennifer R Olney-Miller (apprentice), Nicholas Lee Galanin (master), Sitka ($2,000); Vaughn Eide (apprentice) Ward Cove, Nathan Jackson (master) Ketchikan/Saxman ($2,000).

The Alaska State Council on the Arts is funded by the Alaska State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts, with support for arts education and arts touring grants from the Rasmuson Foundation. All grant funding is contingent on the State of Alaska’s appropriation.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more