Four Juneau residents honored at the Juneau Filipino Community's Legislative Dinner

Left to right, Sen. Dennis Egan, Rep. Cathy Muñoz, and Rep. Beth Kerttula present citations to Reynaldo Abella, Raffy Castaños, Jenny Strickler and Vicky Roldan on Jan. 26.

Juneau’s legislative delegation honored four residents Jan. 26 at the Juneau Filipino Community’s annual dinner for Alaska legislators and staff. Senator Dennis Egan and Representatives Beth Kerttula and Cathy Muñoz presented legislative citations to Jenny Gomez Strickler, Rafael “Raffy” Castaños, Vicky Roldan and Reynaldo Abella.

Strickler was honored for being named Alaska’s first Honorary Consul General of the Republic of the Philippines Oct. 8. She also is a former president of Juneau’s Filipino Community, Inc., and was a member of a first-of-its-kind Alaska state legislative delegation trip last November to the Philippines.

Castaños was recognized for being honored by the Republic of the Philippines with a 2012 Presidential Award for Outstanding Individuals and Organizations Overseas. This honor was conveyed by Philippine President Benigno Aquino III in a Dec. 5, ceremony at the Malacañan Palace in Manila.

Vicky Roldan, a longtime Juneau nurse, was recognized for the role she played as a translator and in-state coordinator during last November’s trade mission to the Philippines.

And Reynaldo Abella was honored for more than 35 years of work for the United States Postal Service.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more