Rasmuson Foundation now accepting Distinguished Artist Award nominations

Nominations for Rasmuson Foundation’s 2013 Distinguished Artist Award are now being accepted by the Rasmuson Foundation. The deadline for nominations is March 1.


Rasmuson Foundation offers one Distinguished Artist Award annually to recognize the superior artistic accomplishments of an Alaska artist. This year the foundation will award $40,000 to the selected artist, the largest amount provided since the award program’s inception in 2004.

Past winners of the Distinguished Artist Award include Alaska artists Kes Woodward of Fairbanks; Rie Munoz of Juneau; John Luther Adams and John Haines of Fairbanks; Ron Senungetuk of Homer; and Delores Elizabeth Churchill, Ray Troll and Nathan Jackson of Ketchikan.

Eligible artists include those who have dedicated themselves for at least 15 years to a significant professional arts career of any artistic discipline. Artists should also have an extensive independent body of work representing a lifelong investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. Their work is usually widely recognized and influential in style, aesthetic or form.

Public nominations of artists who meet the Distinguished Artist Award criteria are welcome. Artists can also nominate themselves. Nominations can be submitted online or by mail, and forms are available at www.rasmuson.org.

The Distinguished Artist Award is part of the Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards program. Since 2004 the program has awarded 269 grants to Alaska artists totaling just over $1.9 million.

Additional information is available by calling 907-297-2700 or 877-366-2700 (toll free in Alaska).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more