Perseverance Theatre opens Broadway comedy 'Seminar'

Perseverance Theatre continues its 34th season with “Seminar,” a new comedy by Theresa Rebeck. “Seminar opens on the Perseverance mainstage Friday, March 8, and runs through March 31.


The story centers on four ambitious young writers who enroll in a writing workshop with Leonard, an international literary figure who delights in doling out ruthlessly withering critique.

Directed by Cynthia Croot, of Pennsylvania, the play features well-known Perseverance actor Enrique Bravo, of Texas, as Martin; local actress Allison Holtkamp as Izzy; Corin Hughes-Skandijs of West Virginia as Douglas; Skagway’s Meredith Hinkley Schimdt, making her Perseverance debut as Kate; and Perseverance Artistic Associate Bostin Christopher as Leonard.

The artistic team includes Perseverance Artistic Director Art Rotch on lights and set; Andy Kline on sound, and Erin Schultz, of New York City, on costumes.

“Seminar,” is the first Theresa Rebeck play Perseverance has produced. Rebeck, also a television writer, was nominated for an Emmy for her work on the show “NYPD Blue” (1996-97), and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for co-writing “Omnium Gatherum” in 2003. More recently, she was the creator of the current NBC series “Smash.” Her previous works for the stage include “The Butterfly Collection,” “Mauritius,” and “Dead Accounts.” “Seminar” premiered on Broadway in November, 2011, (starring Alan Rickman -- Severus Snape in “Harry Potter’ -- as Leonard) and closed this past summer; Perseverance is one of the first regional theatres to produce the play since its Broadway run.

Tickets for “Seminar” are available through Hearthside Books, the JACC, online at or by calling 907-463-TIXs.

For more information, visit


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more