Nominations Sought for Contributions to Literacy in Alaska Award

Nominations close April 30 for the Contributions to Literacy in Alaska award, presented annually by Alaska Center for the Book in a statewide effort to recognize people and agencies that support literature and literacy in the north.

The awards honor individuals and institutions who have made a significant contribution to literacy efforts, to the literary arts, or preservation of the written or spoken word in Alaska. Past winners include librarians, teachers, writers, tutors, learning programs, volunteers and others dedicated to making the world a better place through the gift of language. Last years’ winners were Sandy Solenberger of Barrow, Greg Hill of Fairbanks, and Tom Sexton and Rachel Epstein of Anchorage.

CLIA nominations must be received in writing by April 30. Nomination forms are available online at Alaska Center for the Book’s web site, or by calling 907-786-4379. Awards will be presented in July during the University of Alaska’s Northern Renaissance Arts and Sciences reading series, held in conjunction with UAA’s MFA program in Creative Writing.

Alaska Center for the Book is Alaska’s affiliate to the Library of Congress Center for the Book. The nonprofit, all-volunteer board partners with literary, educational, arts and humanities organizations to host and sponsor events across the state, including Reading Rendezvous and Letters About Literature.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more