JAHC awards 2013 Fine Arts Scholarships

The Board of Trustees of the Juneau Arts & Humanities Council has announced the award of 25 scholarships to local students and alumni.


Dawson Walker, visual artist and cartoonist, a graduate of Juneau Douglas High School now attending Minneapolis College of Art and Design, was awarded the Advanced Art Achievement Award in the amount of $1,000 for his work, to continue his studies in that field.

The Juneau Symphony Award of $1000 for Best Orchestral Musician was awarded to violinist David Miller, an IDEA student.

The Jane Stewart Memorial Scholarship for Best Overall Musician was split between Robert Newman, violin, and Ethan Seid, violin, each receiving $800.

Guy Unzicker, now studying creative writing at the University of Alaska SE, was awarded the 2013 Mac Behrends Creative Writing Award, in the amount of $500 to continue his studies there.

Anna Thompsen, Juneau Douglas High School graduating senior, received a $400 Fine Arts Scholarship for her work as a visual artist.

Fine Arts Scholarships, awarded to students from grade 7 through high school who show exceptional talent and dedication to their art, were received by:

Elias Antaya, violin; Max Blust, drama; Isabella Bugayong, dance; Henry Cheng, violin; James Cheng, cello; Misha Culver, dance; Brita Fagerstrom, drama; Kyle Farley-Robinson, piano; Trevar Fiscus, piano; Dakota Rose Marie Johnson, dance; Carraig New, bagpipes; Maire New, dance; Padraig New, photography; Abby Olsen, violin; Anouk Otsea, dance; David Russel-Jensen, cello; Summer Grace Smith-Wilson, piano; Natalia Spengler, piano; and Eliza Walker, ceramics.

Students apply and then audition before a panel of judges to be selected for these awards, which are merit-based. The auditions, held this year at the Juneau Arts & Culture Center April 21, are open to the public. This year’s panel members were

Dance: Becky Engstrom and Jane Stokes (dance); Allan Engstrom, Dan Hopson and Deborah Smith (fine arts); Kristin Garot, Jane Lindsey and Tony Newman (advanced art achievement and fine arts visual arts).

The Council also provided five scholarships for local students to attend the Sitka Fine Arts Camp.

Funding for the scholarships is made possible by the proceeds from the annual Wearable Art Extravaganza as well as designated gifts from local donors, including major support from the Juneau Community Foundation, the Juneau Symphony, and the Behrends family.

For more information call 586-2787.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more