Symphony to close out 50th season with Motown

The Motown quartet Spectrum will join the Juneau Symphony this weekend for the final mainstage concert of their 50th anniversary season. This concert will feature hits by groups such as the Temptations, the Drifters and the Four Tops, led by the Las Vegas-based vocalists and backed by the symphony.


The concert will be held at Centennial Hall, to make room for a dance floor and a bar hosted by the Rendezvous. The performance is one night only on Saturday, June 15, at 8 p.m. There will be no pre-concert talk for this show.

Spectrum spent six years recreating the sound and style of the Four Tops in Las Vegas production shows before beginning to headline their own shows. They now play with symphony orchestras around the country, as well as on cruise ships and at the Hollywood Palladium, among other venues.

The members of Spectrum are recording artist Darryl Grant of Oakland, Calif., Chicago-born musician and entertainer Pierre Jovan, tenor David Prescott from Rochester, N.Y., and singer, actor and group founder Cushney Roberts, from East Orange, N.J.

Backing up Spectrum will be the 60 member Juneau Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kyle Wiley Pickett. Pickett recently accepted a new position as music director of the Topeka Symphony, but will return for the symphony’s 2013-2014 season.

Orchestra members for this concert are:

Violin I: Lisa Ibias (concertmaster), Ren DeCherney. Kathryn Hoffer, Dawn Lindsay, Kathy Maas, Lisa Miles, Heather Parker

Violin II: Franz Felkl (principal), Rachel Berngartt, Nancy Darigo, Amy Dressel, Kristin Garot, Elise Gelbart, Nola Lamken, Dori Olsen, Ruby Steedle

Viola: Anne Burns (principal), Julia Bastuscheck, Mark Carls, Kiersten Hollar, Hetty Barthel

Cello: Meghan Johnson (principal), Justine Emerson, Amy Lujan, Tyree Pini, Artemio Sandoval, David Seid, Robin Walz

Bass: Vincent Cee, Abe Levy, Bob Olsen, John Staub, Wilson Valentine

Flute: Kathryn Kurtz (principal), Lisa Ray, Colleen Torrence

Oboe: Jetta Whittaker (principal), Elizabeth Agnew

Clarinet: Karen Pallenberg (principal), Corinna Cook

Bassoon: William Todd Hunt (principal)

Saxophone: Hope Aldrighette, Doug Bridges

Horn: Bill Paulick (principal), Amy Bibb, Kristina Paulick, John Schumann

Trumpet: Rick Trostel (principal), Scott Giard, Jill Taylor

Trombone: Jack Hodges (principal), Kathryn Kell, Larry Walsh

Harp: Candace LiVolsi

Percussion: Sally Smith, Derek Steinman

Tickets for Saturday’s concert are available at Hearthside Books, the Juneau Arts and Culture Center, and General admission adult tickets are $25, seniors are $20 and students are $15. Tickets are $5 more at the door.

The symphony’s annual raffle drawing will take place immediately after the concert. Prizes for the raffle include a seven day Holland America cruise, AlaskaAir tickets, White Pass and Yukon Railroad tickets in Skagway, and Eaglecrest 5-day pass and more. Raffle tickets will be on sale through intermission of the concert.

For more information:


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more