Governor's Awards for the Arts & Humanities nominations open

The Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Humanities Forum have opened nominations for the 2013 Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities. The arts awards will be offered in the following categories: Margaret Nick Cooke Award for Alaska Native Arts and Languages, Business Leadership, Arts Advocacy Award and Individual Artist. Eligibility is open to any individual, organization or institution that has made a significant contribution to the arts and humanities in Alaska, with the exception of current ASCA Council members, AKHF Board members, staff or prior Award recipients.

The deadline for nominations is Nov. 15.

The awards will be presented at the Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities in Juneau on Jan. 30. Award recipients will be selected by the Alaska State Council on the Arts, the Alaska Humanities Forum, and the Office of the Governor, based on nominations submitted by the public.

Nominations are now being accepted online at


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more