Juneau Arts & Humanities Council announces Board of Trustees members and officers

The Juneau Arts & Humanities Council recently announced its new Board of Trustees members and officers, as elected at the Annual Meeting held on Wednesday, Oct. 16.


Joining the board this year as new members are Cristine Crooks, Peter Jurasz and Susan Sloss.

Crooks is a longtime local artist and retired Juneau School District principal and educator. She is an active member of the Plein Rein Painters, and advisor to and past executive director of the Alaska Arts Education Consortium, which she co-founded. She received a Governor’s Award for the Arts in 2008 for her work in arts education.

Jurasz is a Senior Financial Advisor with Merrill Lynch and a life-long Juneauite. He has served on the board for Juneau Rotary Club, helped establish the Juneau Community Foundation, and is an advisor to the Youth Action Committee. He most recently served on the Perseverance Theatre board.

Sloss is an artist and a retired programmer and analyst who served on the JAHC Board from 1996 though 2002. She recently stepped down as the Lobby Shop and Gallery manager for the JACC.

Juneau Arts & Humanities Council Board members serve a maximum of two three-year terms, and may be reelected after at least one year off the Board. Members elected to their second terms at this meeting are Sean Boily, Jeff Bush and Mandy Mallott.

Officers elected to serve this year are Candace Behrends (president), Andy Kline (vice president), Bridget Lujan (treasurer) and SueAnn Randall (secretary).

The full Board roster, in addition to those named, includes Jess Parks, Marsha Sousa and Rico Worl.

As yet unfilled is a student position.

The JAHC board meets monthly, and in committees, to activate its mission, which is to “cultivate vibrant arts and cultural opportunities” and be “a leader in building a strong, prosperous community where creativity and innovation thrive.”

Board Members are selected through nominations presented to the Governance Committee and elected by the membership. A nearly complete roster of past board members is available on the JAHC website on the “About Us” page.

For more information about the JAHC visit www.jahc.org or contact Nancy DeCherney, Executive Director at 586-2787.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback