Alaska State Council on the Arts seeks nominations for the Governor's Awards

Nominations are open for the 2013 Governor’s Awards for the Arts through Nov. 15. Eligibility is open to any individual, organization or institution that has made a significant contribution to the arts in Alaska, with the exception of current ASCA Council members, staff or prior Award recipients.


Awards will be given in the following categories:

Arts Advocacy: Awarded to an individual or organization dedicated to promoting the arts through volunteer, administration, legislative or professional efforts.

Individual Artist: Awarded based on artistic leadership, distinction and merit; Recognition of artistic contribution to the state or community through previous honors and awards, reviews or articles; Longevity of impact to state or community.

Business Leadership: Awarded to an individual or business whose fiscal generosity and participation has made a substantial impact on the arts in Alaska; businesses that have used the arts to propel their success, or programs that engage employees with creativity and other community activities that support arts and business partnerships.

Margaret Nick Cooke Award for Native Arts and Languages: Awarded to an individual or organization whose work furthers traditional Alaska Native language or culture.

The Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities ceremony will be held in Juneau on Thursday, Jan. 30. Award recipients will be selected by the Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Office of the Governor, based on nominees submitted by the public.

Nomination forms are available at

For more information, contact the Alaska State Council on the Arts at (888) 278-7424 or (907) 269-6610.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more