Application period opens for Rasmuson Foundation's Individual Artist Awards

Applications for Rasmuson Foundation’s annual Individual Artist Awards grants program are now being accepted, as of Wednesday, Jan. 1. These grant awards go directly to artists to support the development of new work or for activities that advance creative development. Eligible applicants are Alaska residents of two or more years who have not won an Individual Artist Award in the past three years and are 18 years or older.


Awards are made in three categories – project awards, artist fellowship awards and the Distinguished Artist award.

Project awards ($7,500) are for artists with short-term project needs. Project awards may be in any of 10 artistic disciplines: choreography, crafts, folk and traditional arts, literary arts/scriptworks, media arts, multidiscipline/new genre, music composition, performance art, presentation/interpretation, and visual arts.

Fellowships ($18,000) are awarded to mid-career and mature artists to advance their careers. The artistic disciplines for fellowship awards rotate from year to year. For 2014, fellowships will only be awarded in media arts, multidiscipline/new genre, music composition, presentation/interpretation, and visual arts.

The Distinguished Artist award ($40,000) recognizes creative excellence and superior accomplishments. Anyone may nominate a candidate for the Distinguished Artist Award.

Artists may apply for only one type of award.

Rasmuson Foundation created the Individual Artist Awards to encourage the growth of serious artists, helping them continue to create, experiment and contribute art to Alaska communities. In 2013, Rasmuson Foundation awarded $400,00 to 35 artists statewide. Since 2004, the Individual Artist Awards program has awarded 302 grants, of $2.3 million, directly to Alaska artists.

Applications may be filed online on the Rasmuson Foundation website by 11:59 p.m., March 1. Applications sent by mail must be postmarked by March 1. Applications delivered to the office must be received by 5 p.m., Friday, Feb. 28. Applicants may also call (907) 297-2700 or (877) 366-2700 (toll free in Alaska) for additional information or to request an application.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more