2014 Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities announced

The Alaska Humanities Forum and the Alaska State Council on the Arts have announced this year’s recipients of the Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities. The nine awards, announced Friday, include four arts awards, four humanities awards and one lifetime achievement award.

All nine will be presented Jan. 30 at the Juneau Arts and Culture Center.

Inupiaq artist and educator Ronald Senungetuk, of Homer, won the Governor’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Arts and Humanities. Born in Wales, Alaska, Senungetuk is primarily known for his work in wood and metal. A Fulbright scholar, he graduated from Statens Handverks and Kunstindustri Skole in Oslo, Norway, before returning to Alaska to teach art at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, where he founded and directed the Native Arts Center. He retired from teaching in 1988.

The four arts awardees are Cam Bohman, of Anchorage, music coordinator for the Alaska School Activities Association, honored with the Arts Advocacy Award; artist and educator Martha Galila, of Goodnews Bay, honored with the Margaret Nick Cooke Award for Alaska Native Arts and Languages; writer Eowyn Ivey, of Palmer, honored with the Individual Artist Award; and Darl Schaaff, of Anchorage, partner and owner of Art Services North, honored with the Business Leadership Award.

The four humanities awardees are Aaron Leggett, of Anchorage, special exhibits curator for the Anchorage Museum; William “Willie” Iġġiagruk Hensley, of Anchorage, Distinguished Visiting Professor at the University of Alaska Anchorage; Patricia Ann Relay, of Valdez, executive director of the Valdez Museum & Historical Archive; and essayist and poet Eva Saulitis of Homer.

This year, the Jan. 30 awards ceremony for the Governor’s Awards has been scheduled to coincide with the state legislative session in Juneau, and will include artist performances and a reception for community members. In the past the ceremony has been held in Anchorage, in conjunction with the Alaska Federation of Natives convention.

Sponsored by the Alaska Humanities Forum, Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Arts and Culture Foundation, in cooperation with the Governor’s Office, the awards are designed to honor significant achievements by Alaskan artists, writers, historians, scholars, humanities and arts institutions and others.

For more information on the awardees and the awards reception in Juneau, visit www.akhf.org or education.alaska.gov/aksca.

Reservations can be made online at bit.ly/GovernorsAwards2014 or by calling 907-586-ARTS.


Wed, 01/18/2017 - 00:02

32nd Annual Legislative Welcome Reception, Wednesday, Jan. 18, 5-6:30 p.m., Centennial Hall Convention Center. Baby Raven Reads and Juneau Public Library family night, Thursday, Jan. 19, 5:30 - 7 p.m., downtown Juneau Public Library. Read more
Wed, 01/18/2017 - 00:02

Juneau to have 6th annual Project Homeless Connect

Juneau to have 6th annual Project Homeless Connect

Every year, the Juneau Coalition on Housing & Homelessness puts on Project Homeless... Read more

Wed, 01/18/2017 - 12:27

PeaceHealth Medical Group to have ear, nose and throat specialist

Ketchikan to have new visiting ear, nose, throat specialist Ketchikan - Nathan Christensen, M.D., has joined PeaceHealth Medical Group in Ketchikan as a visiting ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialist. Read more

Wed, 01/18/2017 - 00:02

Haines duo to exhibit encaustic art

Haines duo to exhibit beach-themed encaustic art Haines­-Sam Jackson and Rebecca Brewer stumbled onto their new medium by accident. Read more


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback