The Alaska State Council on the Arts seeks nominations for the 2014-2016 Alaska State Writer Laureate

Nominations are now open for the 2014-2016 Alaska State Writer Laureate. Eligibility is open to Alaskan writers from all genres who, throughout their careers, have demonstrated:


literary excellence and mastery in style, form and genre; exemplary professionalism and exceptional talent in published works; service to Alaskan communities and a commitment to the advancement of the Literary Arts in Alaskan communities; a history of providing public presentations or teaching; and a significant body of published work.

The deadline for nominations is Oct. 1, 2014.

The Alaska State Writer Laureate is a two-year honorary appointment recognizing the selected writer’s contribution to the quality of life in Alaska through their written work and other literary endeavors. The role of the Laureate is to promote the literary arts and artists of Alaska. In fulfilling this purpose, each Laureate determines, in consultation with ASCA, a project to complete over the course of their appointment.

Nominations are solicited by the Alaska State Council on the Arts on a biennial basis. The Alaska State Writer Laureate is selected by the Alaska State Council on the Arts’ Literary Arts Advisory Committee and approved by the Council and the Governor. The Alaska State Writer Laureate is recognized through a proclamation by the Legislature.

The next State Writer Laureate will be announced at the Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities to be held at the Juneau Arts and Culture Center in Juneau on Jan. 29, 2015.

The nomination form is available on the Council’s website at For more information, contact the Alaska State Council on the Arts at 1.888.278.7424 or 269.6610.

The mission of the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA) is to foster the development of the arts for all Alaskans through education, partnership, grants and services. ASCA is a division of the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, and is governed by eleven council members appointed by the Governor. It is supported with general funds appropriated by the Alaska State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional support for arts education programs from the Rasmuson Foundation.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more