• Overcast
  • 28°
  • Syndicate content
  • Comment

AK State Writer Laureate nominations open

Posted: August 13, 2014 - 11:03pm  |  Updated: August 20, 2014 - 11:05pm

The Alaska State Council on the Arts is seeking nominations for the 2014-2016 Alaska State Writer Laureate. Eligibility is open to Alaskan writers from all genres who, throughout their careers, have demonstrated:

• Literary excellence and mastery in style, form, and genre

• Exemplary professionalism and exceptional talent in published works

• Service to Alaskan communities and a commitment to the advancement of the Literary Arts in Alaskan communities

• A history of providing public presentations or teaching

• A significant body of published work

Deadline for nominations is Oct. 1.

The Alaska State Writer Laureate is a two-year honorary appointment recognizing the selected writer’s contribution to the quality of life in Alaska through their written work and other literary endeavors. The role of the Laureate is to promote the literary arts and artists of Alaska. In fulfilling this purpose, each Laureate determines, in consultation with ASCA, a project to complete over the course of their appointment.

Nominations are solicited by the Alaska State Council on the Arts on a biennial basis. The Alaska State Writer Laureate is selected by the Alaska State Council on the Arts’ Literary Arts Advisory Committee and approved by the council and the governor. The next State Writer Laureate will be announced at the Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities to be held at the Juneau Arts and Culture Center on Jan. 29, 2015.

The nomination form is available on the Council’s website at For more information, contact the Alaska State Council on the Arts at 888-278-7424 or at 907-269-6610.

  • Comment


Please Note: You may have disabled JavaScript and/or CSS. Although this news content will be accessible, certain functionality is unavailable.

Skip to News

« back

next »

  • title
  • title
  • title
Slideshow | Legislative Week in Review 3


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback