Governor's Awards nominations open

The Alaska State Council on the Arts is seeking nominations for the 2015 Governor’s Awards for the Arts


Nominations are now open in the following categories: arts education, individual artist, arts organization and Native arts. Eligibility is open to any individual, organization or institution that has made a significant contribution to the arts in Alaska, with the exception of current ASCA Council members, staff or prior award recipients. Deadline for nominations is Oct. 1, 2014.

The awards will be presented at the Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities to be held at the Juneau Arts and Culture Center Jan. 29, 2015. Arts award recipients will be selected by the Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Office of the Governor, based on nominees submitted by the public.

Categories and criteria for the 2015 Governor’s Arts Awards are:

• Arts education (individual or organization): Dedication to providing Alaska’s youth with quality arts education; advocacy and commitment to arts education in Alaska; statewide or broad community impact and recognition.

• Individual artist: Artistic leadership, distinction and merit; recognition of artistic contribution to the state or community through previous honors, awards, reviews or articles; longevity of impact to the state and Alaskan communities.

• Arts organization: Visionary and innovative leadership; statewide impact and collaboration with other organizations; stability and longevity of the organization.

• Native arts (individual or organizations): outstanding effort to perpetuate and promote Alaska’s Native arts and cultural heritage; significant impact of artistic contribution that advances Alaska Native cultures.

The nomination form is available at All nominations must be submitted through this form. For more information, visit or contact the Alaska State Council on the Arts at 888-278-7424 or 907-269-6610.

The mission of the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA) is to foster the development of the arts for all Alaskans through education, partnership, grants and services. ASCA is a division of the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development and is governed by 11 council members appointed by the governor. It is supported with general funds appropriated by the Alaska State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional support from the Rasmuson Foundation.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more