Alaska Contemporary Art Bank celebrates 11 new acquisitions

The Alaska State Council on the Arts recently hosted this year’s Alaska Contemporary Art Bank Reception, recognizing 11 recently purchased artworks to be added to the Alaska Contemporary Art Bank.


The following artists’ work was selected for purchase in this round of acquisitions:

• Deland Anderson (Homer), tempera painting

• Wayde Carroll (Anchorage), color photography

• Julie Drake (Anchorage), textile

• Annie Duffy (Fairbanks), sculpture

• Peter Lind (Homer), carving

• Gail Niebrugge (Palmer), acrylic painting

• David Rosenthal (Cordova), oil painting

• Maria Shell (Anchorage), textile

• Mary Stroud (Barrow), color photography

• Mark Tetpon (Eagle River), carving

• Sheila Wyne (Anchorage), encaustic painting

The Alaska Contemporary Art Bank was founded in 1975 by the Alaska State Council on the Arts and was created with two primary goals: to expose more Alaskans to high quality work by contemporary Alaskan artists through the loaning of original art to public offices throughout Alaska and to provide support to professional artists in Alaska through purchase of their work. The collection has grown to more than 700 art works in a wide variety of media, styles and subject matter. Although the art is the same as that collected by museums, the purpose of the Art Bank is to provide a circulating collection of Alaskan artwork to exhibit in public buildings throughout the state.

The mission of the Alaska State Council on the Arts is to foster the development of the arts for all Alaskans through education, partnership, grants and services. ASCA is a division of the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, and is governed by eleven council members appointed by the Governor. It is supported with general funds appropriated by the Alaska State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional support for arts education programs from the Rasmuson Foundation.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more