Ethel Lund wins award from Alaska Federation of Natives

Ethel Lund of the Tlingit Nation won the Della Keats Healing Hands Award of 2017 from the Alaska Federation of Natives.

A press release from AFN said the award recognizes an Alaska Native who has demonstrated strong commitment, competence and sensitivity as a tribal healer or health care provider and whose accomplishments have most directly affected Native people in their home communities.

Lund, whose Tlingit name is Aanwoogeex’, signifying the Raven as he walked about when creating the earth, was born to Carl Lund of Sweden and Martha Ukas of Wrangell.She was one of the founders of SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC), and first served as board chair (1975-1977) until the position changed to president and she was hired. In addition, she has served as Grand Camp President and Grand Camp Secretary of the Alaska Native Sisterhood, Executive Vice President of the Tlingit and Haida Tribes of Alaska, Chairman of the Alaska Native Health Board, Vice Chair of the National Indian Health Board, and President of Alaska Native Sisterhood Camps 1 and 70, said the press release.

Lund has received numerous awards and achieved several notable first. She currently serves on the Executive Committee for the Alaska Native Sisterhood, Sealaska Board of Directors, and the Board of Trustees for Bartlett Regional Hospital. She is a Trustee for Sealaska Heritage Foundation, Vice President of the Healing Hands Foundation, and a member of the SEARHC Elder Council. She represents Southeast Alaska on the Alaska Native Joint Elder Advisory Committees for both the ANTHC and the National Resource Center for American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Elders.

Others recognize by AFN: Gertrude Svarny of Unalaska received the Culture Bearer Award, which recognizes a person’s strong involvement in the arts, whether as an artist, arts administrator or preservers of Native culture; Roy Huhndorf who is of Yup’ik descent and from the village of Nulato was given the Dr. Walter Soboleff “Warrior of Light” Award, which goes to someone who uplifts, enriches, and unifies their people; Isaac Kupaaq Tulugak Akootchook of Nalagiagvik (Arey Island) received the Elder of the Year award because he exemplified the highest of values and qualities important to Native people by being a leader, educator, and cultural preserver throughout his life; Macy Rae Kikiktagruk Annuk Kenworthy of Kotzebue and Sisaulik received the Lu Young Youth Leadership Award, which recognizes young women of high school or college age who demonstrate leadership qualities and challenge themselves to become future leaders; Franklin “Buddy” Okleasik, Jr. is Inupiaq Qawairaqmiut, and received Parent of the Year, which recognizes an Alaska Native parent who exhibits many of the qualities and values important to the continued physical, social and cultural survival of Native people; and Kelly Shewfelt Turner who won the Public Service Award, which goes to someone who has have promoted and assisted in the development of their community.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Margaret Brady Fund scholarship applications now accepted

Area students pursuing artistic excellence may apply for scholarships as part of the Margaret Frans Brady Fund.

Read more