Fast times at ridge high above Mount Roberts Tram

A course of mud, mayhem, and meandering tourists greeted Saturday’s field in the annual Mount Roberts Tram Run.


“I much prefer the mud,” first place finisher Houston Laws said after touching Father Brown’s Cross high atop Mount Roberts with the third fastest time in the history of the race. “I would rather run in the mud than all those switchbacks and tourist on the corners.”

Laws plastered the roughly 2,500 feet elevation gain over 3.5 miles in 35 minutes and seven seconds. Melanie Fairbanks topped the women’s field in 43:51.

More than 40 runners participated in the event, which also featured a half-mile youth run near the tram station. Dzantiki’I Heeni eighth-grader Keith Harvey won the half with a time of two minutes 55 seconds.

“I like to run because my mom used to race,” Harvey said.

The Southeast Road Runner’s race is sponsored by the Mount Roberts Tramway.

The annual run up Mount Roberts begins at the lower Tram Station, 490 S. Franklin St. Runners start at the South Franklin tram parking area and head up Franklin Street to Basin Road and the new Mount Roberts trailhead and up the trail to Father Brown’s Cross. The finishes and times of the MRT run are: Houston Laws, 35:07; Jeff Harrington, 37:32; Ted Helvoigt, 37:56; Bryan Hitchcock, 38:29; Jeremia Klejka, 38:55; Jeffrey Deeter, 38:55; Reid Harris, 40:06; Hiram Henry, 41:11; Richard Lam, 41:18; Eric Twelker, 42:05; Steve Schmitz 42:46; Melanie Fairbanks, 43:51; Paul DeSloover, 44:39; Brian Ewing, 45:28; Jane Ann Twelker, 45:45; Janell Hafner, 46:35; Karlynn Welling, 47:09; Susie Pothier, 48:06; Don Johnson, 48:09; Marvin Flynn, 48:11; Mary Schlosser, 51:12; John Kern, 51:24; Zane Clark, 51:55; Tommy Albert, 52:54; Katy Echave, 53:37; Julie Harvey, 54:14; James Dooley, 55:43; Crystal Dooley, 55:44; Heidi Pearson, 57:40; Shawna Wishart, 59:16; Joe Warren, 1:00:01; T:J: Slagle, 1:00:19; Myron Davis, 1:00:38; Faith Reynolds, 1:00:39. The Best Times for the Mount Roberts Tram Run over the past seven years are: 2010 men - Tristan Knutson-Lombardo 35:40 and women - Janeann Twelker 47:05. 2009 -Scott May 40:59 and Abby Lowell 37:56. 2008 - Geoff Roes 32:54 and J. Twelker 44:12. 2007 – G. Roes 35:21 and J. Twelker 41:28. 2006 – S. May 40:59 and Breea Mearig 44:12. 2005 - John Bursell 31:34 and Joann Quigg 41:16. 2004 – J. Bursell 32:12 and Amanda Thompson 42:11.

• Contact reporter Klas Stolpe at 523-2263 or at


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Tue, 05/22/2018 - 13:28

Sea Week: A Juneau success story