3 honored for foundational work with city museum

Three Juneauites recently received honors from the Alaska Historical Society for their efforts in securing an important work of art for the Juneau-Douglas City Museum.

Mike Blackwell, Marie Darlin and Jim Geraghty will share a “Contributions to Alaska History Award” in part for securing an original Sydney Laurence oil painting, “Early Morning Juneau,” a release from the society states The release also noted their incorporation of the Friends of the Juneau-Douglas City Museum and the trio’s spearheading of a successful membership drive for that group as reasons for the award.

The Juneau trio received on of three “Contributions to Alaska History” awards. Ray Bonnell and the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner shared one such prize and Suellyn Wright-Novak won the other.

Other prizes announced by the society at its Sept. 23 meeting are the Esther Billman Award of Excellence to Jane Norris Williams, the Evangeline Atwood Award to the Anchorage Women’s Club, the historian of the Year Award to Terrence Cole and the Pathfinder Award to the Lost Alaskans: Morningside Hospital History Project.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback