BRH employees recognized at 2011 Nurse of the Year Awards

Mike Lopez, lead security officer at Bartlett Regional Hospital, Joan Harvey and James Reese were honored at the 2011 March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards on Friday at the Hotel Captain Cook in Anchorage.

Lopez was honored in the “Friend of Nursing” category, Harvey, a registered nurse, was honored in the “Maternal Newborn” category, and Reese was honored posthumously in the “Legend in Nursing” category.

The March of Dimes Nurse of the Year program recognizes nurses and medical professionals in 18 different categories. The single award recipients in each category are individuals whose leadership and contributions have made a significant impact in their community and the profession of nursing. Patients, friends, colleagues and other health professionals nominate up to 100 nurses in Alaska.

In all, 18 individuals at Bartlett Regional Hospital were nominated. Other nominees were: Debi Ballam, “Legend in Nursing” category; Lincoln Farabee, “Critical Care, Adults” category; Audrey Rasmussen, “Critical Care, Adults” category; Melinda Campbell, “Critical Care, Adults” category; Molly Hassig, “Rising Star” category; Kirsten Kinkaid, “General Medical-Surgical” category; Gail Moorehead, “Nursing Administration/Education” category; Jim Andreas, “Emergency/Flight” category; Mo Lodovici, “Hospital Case Management, Care Coordinator” category; Toni Petrie, executive assistant, “Friend of Nursing, Ancillary” category; Sue Gardner, materials management director, “Friend of Nursing, Ancillary” category; Chris Carpenter, respiratory therapist, “Friend of Nursing, Professional” category; Luke Dihle, “Critical Care, Adults”; and Kim Vermedal, “Ambulatory Nursing” category.


Thu, 01/19/2017 - 09:26

Around Town for Thursday, Jan. 19

Today, Jan. 19

Read more
Thu, 01/19/2017 - 09:21

This Day in Juneau History: Jan. 19, 1987

On Jan. 19, 1987, with revenues half of what they were the year before and an estimated budget deficit ranging from $700-$900 million, the 15th Alaska Legislature began working on the state’s enormous budget deficit. Everyone was present for the Legislature’s first day except for Sen. Frank Ferguson, D-Kotzebue, who resigned shortly after his election because of health problems. Taking his place was Kotzebue businessman and Native leader Willie Hensley, whom Gov. Steve Cowper appointed for the position until the 1988 elections.

Read more
Thu, 01/19/2017 - 09:21

Police & Fire for Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017

This report contains public information available to the Empire from law enforcement and public safety agencies. This report includes arrest and citation information, not conviction information. Anyone listed in this report is presumed innocent. Anyone with information about a crime can report a tip anonymously to

Read more


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback