Scholarships available for first-generation college students

Alaska high school graduates who will be the first in their immediate families to attend a college or university can apply for tuition assistance from the Neal O. Thorpe Memorial Scholarship offered by The Alaska Community Foundation.

To be eligible, applicants must be graduates of an Alaska high school or equivalent, and be the first in their immediate family to attend a college or university. Applicants must attend, or plan to attend, one of the eligible colleges or universities listed below.

The scholarship awards $7,500 to the successful applicant’s university to cover the student’s education expenses. The scholarship may be renewed for up to five years for students in good standing who maintain a 2.5 grade point average. Students may submit applications until May 31 on the scholarship page of the foundation’s website, Final awards will be announced by August.

The scholarship was created to honor Thorpe, a trustee and executive director of the Murdock Charitable Trust. Colleges and universities eligible for the Thorpe scholarship include: Alaska Christian College, Soldotna; Alaska Pacific University, Anchorage; Concordia University, Portland, Ore.; Corban College, Salem, Ore.; George Fox University, Newberg, Ore.; Montana Bible College, Bozeman, Mont.; Multnomah University, Portland, Ore.; Northwest Nazarene, Nampa, Idaho; Northwest University, Kirkland, Wash.; Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma, Wash.; Seattle Pacific University, Seattle, Wash.; Trinity Lutheran College, Everett, Wash.; University of Portland, Portland, Ore.; Warner Pacific College, Portland, Ore.; and Whitworth University, Spokane, Wash.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Sun, 04/22/2018 - 06:49

Battling Parkinson’s together