Wells Fargo Alaska names new regional president

Richard Strutz has announced his retirement as Wells Fargo Alaska regional president. The bank named Joe Everhart as Strutz’s successor.


Strutz spent 42 years with Wells Fargo, starting as a teller in Anchorage at National Bank of Alaska and including 20 years as Alaska region chief executive. His retirement begins Dec. 5.

"It has been an honor and privilege to help so many Alaskans realize their personal and business dreams over the years,” Strutz said in a press release. “There is no better place than Alaska to do business and raise a family, and I am very grateful to have enjoyed a rewarding career with my Wells Fargo family.”

Strutz serves on the board of directors for Providence Hospital Community Ministry, World Trade Center Alaska and Alaska Insurance Guaranty Association.

Everhart has worked with Wells Fargo for 22 years. The current business banking manager will oversee 600 Wells Fargo employees in 49 bank locations when he takes over for Strutz.

Everhart has worked with Wells Fargo in Ketchikan, Kotzebue, Fairbanks, Dillingham, Barrow and Homer. He graduated from Pacific Coast Banking School and earned a bachelor’s degree in finance from Gonzaga University.

Everhart serves in the community as vice-chair for the Anchorage Economic Development Corporation, vice-chair for the Alaska Bankers Association, secretary for the United Way of Anchorage, treasurer for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Alaska and board member for the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce.

The U.S. Wells Fargo and Company was ranked No. 26 on Fortune’s 2012 rankings of America’s largest corporations.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Mon, 06/18/2018 - 06:03

Gold Rush Days returns