CCFR announces 2012 award winners

Capital City Fire/Rescue recognized members of its department on Saturday evening during its annual award ceremony.


The Firefighter of the Year award for 2012 went to Noah Jenkins.

“Noah volunteers for every assignment that is needed, very competent in his skills, takes on special projects such as installing a fire pole at the Juneau Station, refinishing the kitchen cabinets, remodeling the front offices and regularly teaches classes to our members,” Fire Chief Richard Etheridge said. “He takes pride in what he does and spreads a positive message through the entire department.”

The EMS Providers of the Year award went to volunteer EMT Amanda Carlson and career paramedic Bryon Young.

The Instructor of the Year award went to paramedic Joe Mishler.

The Special Teams Member of the Year went to rope rescue team member Kim Mahar.

Jessie Echave was awarded Rookie of the Year.

Ken Lawrenson and Chad Cameron were both awarded Officer of the Year.

The Chief’s Award of Excellence went to Shaun Rhea.

The following firefighters were recognized for performance under extreme conditions at the Gastineau Apartments fire in November of 2012, including the ladder rescue of a civilian: Brent Clancy, Jessie Echave, Travis Larson, Paul Kelly, John Adams, Todd Cameron, Nathan Young and Shaun Rhea.

The following dispatchers were recognized for their professionalism, resourcefulness and attention to detail during the Gastineau Apartments fire: Tonya Kurtz, Jason VanSickle, Erann Kalwara, Celeste Lopez, Christy Smith, Joe Fox and Lisa Haffner.

“Their cool calm demeanor provided the rescue teams the information and resources needed to bring this event to a successful conclusion,” the chief said.

• Contact reporter Emily Russo Miller at 523-2263 at


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Mon, 05/21/2018 - 06:15

Flyfishing shop reels in 20 years