• Few clouds
  • 57°
    Few clouds
  • Comment

Election results certified, Troll wins

Posted: October 8, 2013 - 12:20pm  |  Updated: October 9, 2013 - 12:01am
  Michael Penn | Juneau Empire
Michael Penn | Juneau Empire

It’s official: Kate Troll has won the Areawide Assembly seat in the 2013 municipal election’s only contested race.

Troll edged out fellow long-time Juneau resident Bill Peters by 536 votes with just 19 percent of Juneau’s registered voters casting a ballot.

The election goes down as the capital city’s worst ever in terms of voter turnout — the previous low for a regular election was 26 percent in 2008.

Assembly incumbents Mary Becker and Karen Crane were both re-elected after running unopposed, and current school board members Barbara Thurston and Lillian “Lisa” Worl also were elected without a challenger.

It marked Worl’s first nod of public approval as she was nominated by the school board to fill a vacant seat after a sitting member moved late last year.

There were no ballot questions this year.

• Contact reporter Matt Woolbright at 523-2243 or at matthew.woolbright@juneauempire.com. Follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/reportermatt.

  • Comment


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback