• Overcast, light rain
  • 52°
    Overcast, light rain
  • Comment

Metlakatla elects first female mayor

First woman to run, Hudson wins close race

Posted: November 8, 2013 - 1:06am

On Tuesday, Metlakatla elected Audrey Hudson as mayor, the first woman mayor in the Annette Island community’s 126-year history.

Hudson won the seat by a margin of 11 votes, defeating Karl Cook 376-365.

Despite the close vote, there will not be a recount, according to outgoing MIC Secretary Diana Yliniemi.

Counting absentee ballots, 746 people voted in the Metlakatla Indian Community elections.

Yliniemi lost her bid for re-election against Judith Eaton, 355 votes to 377, respectively.

Also Tuesday, voters elected Nathan Fawcett over Victoria Wagner for treasurer, 433-297.

Out of the seven Tribal Council candidates, the following six won a seat: Connie Darling, 505 votes; Myranell Bergtold, 517 votes; Rich Hudson Sr., 580 votes; Karen Thompson, 489 votes; Daniel Williams, 491 votes; and Solomon Atkinson, 439 votes.

With 394 votes, Rachael Askren did not win a seat on the council.

Each elected position is for a two-year term. The newly elected candidates will be sworn in on Dec. 3.

The election results were announced shortly after 10 a.m., Metlakatla time, on Tuesday. The island was abuzz with the election results, with residents taking to Facebook and Twitter to celebrate Hudson’s historic win.

Reached for comment Wednesday morning, Mayor-elect Hudson said she “couldn’t be better.”

“I’m about neck-deep in congratulations,” she added. “I’ve got some grand ideas for Metlakatla and I’m ready.”

Metlakatla first was settled in 1887 and is the only reservation in Alaska. The MIC Constitution was approved in August of 1944.

  • Comment


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback