Schliesing tapped for Bob Ellis Award

Editor’s note: This is the final installment of a series of profiles about students recognized as ‘Outstanding Graduates’ in the 2011 University of Alaska Southeast (UAS) class. The UAS 2011 commencement will be held at 2 p.m. today at the UAS Recreation Center.

Anchorage’s Carrie Schliesing recently earned the University of Alaska Southeast’s Bob Ellis Award for 2001.

The Ellis Award is given each year to the outstanding graduating student in UAS’ Bachelor of Business Administration program. To be considered for the prize, students must have at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA. From there the decision is based on several factors, including: demonstrated leadership in class as well as leadership outside of class in the community, enthusiasm for business, participation in group projects and other factors deemed applicable by the School of Management faculty.

In addition to her work at UAS, Schliesing is a mother of four sons and operates a family business with her husband, Gary. She also is a past member of the Valdez school board and recently received the Golden Key International Honour Society Award for academic excellence.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Students participate in district spelling bee

On February 12, 17 students participated in the district spelling bee. These students had already won their class bees and school bees. Students from 3rd-8th... Read more

Thank you Petro Marine Services and Lindsey family

We live in a very generous community and state, and that generosity is very apparent every single day.

Read more

Recent births

Recent births at Barlett Regional Hospital:

Read more