AWARE to honor 4 Juneau women for contributions to community

AWARE (Aiding Women in Abuse and Rape Emergencies) will hold its 16th annual Women of Distinction Gala and Silent Auction March 3 at Centennial Hall. The event will honor four distinguished women who have made significant contributions to improving the lives of Juneau’s women and children. Community members submitted nominations; the honorees were selected by AWARE’s board of directors. The 2012 honorees are Sharron Lobaugh, Amy Dressel, Megan Gregory, whose achievements will be honored as Young Woman of Distinction, and Joan O’Keefe.

For ticket purchase or more information about AWARE or the Women of Distinction Dinner, please contact AWARE at 586-6623. To contact the honorees, please call AWARE at the same number.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Dzantik’i Heeni honor roll

Dzantik’i Heeni Middle School released their list of students who made the Honor Roll for first quarter. They are as follows:

Read more