AEYC thanks volunteers and donors

The Association for the Education of Young Children (AEYC) recently held their 30th annual Early Childhood Education Conference at Centennial Hall – The Profession of Play: Celebrating 30 years of Early Childhood Education in Southeast Alaska. This event was a wonderful opportunity to recognize and celebrate all of the hard work that early childhood educators put into supporting Southeast Alaskan children. This conference would not have been possible without the help of a variety of individuals and partner organizations.


Thanks to all of the local businesses who donated door prizes: Juneau’s Imagination Station, Gourmet Alaska, Alaskan Fudge Co., Sandpiper Café, Hangar on the Wharf, Heritage Coffee, Hearthside Books, and Nugget Alaskan Outfitter. Outside donors were Kaplan Co., Chinaberry Inc., and Lakeshore Learning.

Multiple agencies sponsored breakfasts and lunch: Best Beginnings, Alaska AEYC, thread (Alaska’s child care resource and referral network), Association for Alaska School Boards and the Initiative for Community Engagement. Halau Hula ‘o ‘Olili’ula (School of Northern Lights) gave a wonderful hula demonstration during lunch while Cori Stennett lent us her hoops for a different kind of hula.

Thanks to the Baker Family for all of their volunteer work at AEYC and to the Americorps volunteers who helped out during the conference: Cristin Lambert, Claire Murphy and Christine Amor. We appreciate Legislative Skits donating the proceeds of their event to AEYC and the Centennial Hall staff for being so easy to work with.

Abby’s Kitchen provided delicious food to 200 hungry conference attendees.

And last but not least, we’d like to thank all of our fabulous presenters who made this conference a success: Linda Torgerson, Chris Thomas, Bev Ingram, Peter Briggs, MK McNaughton, Sam Adams, Charlie Johanson-Adams, Judie Klemmetson, Staci Collier, Caren Robinson, Rachel Brown, Jacqueline Tagaban, Veronica Plumb, Jennifer Russell, Taralee Ellis, Lu Seapy, Christopher Mertl, Tandra Geska, Nikki Morris, Diane Sly, Amelia Jenkins, Emily Coate, Brenda Taylor, Rhonda Gardinier and Janice Hurley. See you all next year!

Lauren Brooks, Family Services / Conference Coordinator, AEYC-SEA


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Learn how to run for local office

This October, Juneau voters will elect a mayor, two City and Borough of Juneau Assembly members and three Juneau School District Board of Education members.... Read more

As-Salam-u-Alaikum (‘Peace be unto you’)

All things considered it is strange that as a Jewish woman I chose a Muslim holiday to write about.

Read more