Blessing of the fleet

On behalf of the Alaska Fisherman’s Memorial Committee, we would like to extend heartfelt appreciation to the community of Juneau for their continued support of the Fisherman’s Memorial and Blessing of the Fleet.


The Blessing of the Fleet, the dedication and reading of the engraved memorial names takes place the first Saturday of May each year. It is a time when our incredible community joins together to honor commercial fisherman who have passed on and to bless those who are still engaged in this dangerous profession.

This year, we would like to thank all of the amazing individuals who participated in the Blessing of the Fleet and Dedication of Names. The Alaska Fisherman’s Memorial Committee express their gratitude to the U.S. Coast Guard 17th District’s Color Guard, the Coast Guard’s 47-foot Motor lifeboat on watch, Girl Scout Cadet Troop No. 4026 and co-leaders Melanie Coleman and Tina Strong, Pastor Sam Dalin of the River of Glory Church, Riverbend Elementary Music teacher Rebecca Ricker, Samantha Kostenko, Davin Savikko, Randy Beason captain of the F/V KAIA, City of Juneau Pipe Band, Pastor Douglas Dye of Chapel By the Lake and Pastor Sam Dalin.

We express sincere appreciation to Governor Sean Parnell who spoke of the importance of the commercial fishing industry to Alaska and Juneau and the commerce it brings to our great state. His comforting words to the families of those who have passed on supporting the industry together — those who were lost at sea, bearing the star etched by their name on the memorial wall, will always be remembered.

We thank Reecia Wilson, who donated a lavish reception following the Blessing at the Twisted Fish and Eric Norman of Taku Fisheries/Smokeries. We also express appreciation to Miss Scarlett’s, Superbear and Alaskan & Proud who all provided flowers for the memorial and remembrance of loved ones.

We are grateful for the Juneau fishing community and all the members of the City and Borough of Juneau Assembly for their support and dedication to the commercial fishing industry and its importance to us all. The members of the Alaska Commercial Fishermen’s Memorial Board of Directors who deserve special thanks are Bruce Weyhrauch, Linnea Osborne, Ted Merrell, Tom Gemmell, Melissa Museth, Carl Brodersen, and Tisa Becker.

Tisa Becker, Alaska Commercial Fishermen’s Memorial Board of Directors


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Sat, 05/19/2018 - 18:42

Running the Race of Faith

Sat, 05/19/2018 - 18:38

Learn how to run for local office

This October, Juneau voters will elect a mayor, two City and Borough of Juneau Assembly members and three Juneau School District Board of Education members.... Read more

As-Salam-u-Alaikum (‘Peace be unto you’)

All things considered it is strange that as a Jewish woman I chose a Muslim holiday to write about.

Read more