Fil-Com Inc. awarded 37 scholarships

Recipients of scholarships from the Filipino Community, Inc. show off their awards at the ceremony.

The Filipino Community, Inc. of Juneau, a non-profit organization has awarded scholarships to a total of 37 middle school, high school and college students during the Scholarship Awards Night held at the FCI Hall on Aug. 18. One of FCI’s missions is to promote educational opportunities for its young members in order to preserve the rich Filipino heritage, culture and tradition.


The criteria for selections are based on Grade Points Average, Co-curricular activities, community services and membership attendance. Scholarship recipients have demonstrated commitment to give back to the community, leadership ability, and high academics and athletics potential.

Through the generosity of the FCI, the Scholarship Program offered four categories: Initial College Scholarship, Books and Transportation Allowance, Student Athlete Incentive and Savings Bond Incentive. Filipino Community, Inc. awarded at least $12,000 in scholarships.

Below are the deserving students/recipients of scholarship incentives:

Initial College Scholarship: Edric Carrillo and Jericho Cristobal.

Books and Transportation Allowances: Ramona Alex, Samantha Alex, Daffodil Alinson, Edmar Carrillo, Mariel Enriquez, Mark Enriquez, Clarissa Suson, Maylinda Rose Suson, Linsey Tomaro and Ruthanne Yadao.

Student Athlete Incentives for high school: Edric Carrillo, Jericho Cristobal, Patrick Escorrido, Ciera Kelly, Micki Minsch, Patrick Minsch, Talyn Ramos, Dillon Tomaro and John Yadao.

Student Athlete Incentives for middle school: Phillip Escorrido and Treyson Ramos.

Savings Bond Incentives for high school: Patrick Escorrido, Ciera Kelly, Christianne Mariano, Patrick Minsch, Micki Minsh, Talyn Ramos, Mariah Soriano, Jonah Taboada and Dillon Tomaro.

Savings Bond Incentives for middle school: Phillip Escorrido, Kaia Hamrick, Kamy Hamrick, Treyson Ramos and Erin May Taboada.

“It means a lot to me to receive two scholarship incentives, it showed that I have worked hard not only in swimming, but also excelled in my academics,” said Ciera Kelly, recipient of bot the Student Athlete Incentive and Savings Bonds Incentive.

The Scholarship Committee Members are Nove Barril, Arlene Lumbab, Ernie Dumaop, Fernando Manalo, Myra Pugh and Gloria Sarabia.

“Getting a scholarship is not all about receiving money, it means that students are seen as having a potential of giving back to our society.” said Josielind A. Ferrer, Scholarship Chairperson.

To inquire about the FCI Scholarship Program, you can visit online at: or call 586-4116.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






God of Surprises

A renegade Catholic, lately I’ve been thinking of myself as lost to religion.

Read more

Visiting an old school

Growing up and living in Juneau all of my life, I’m often not aware of change until I revisit the places I’ve been before.... Read more