Academic recognitions for June 16, 2013

St. Olaf College


Marci Sortor, Dean and Provost of St. Olaf College, has named Megan Behnke from Juneau to the St. Olaf College Dean’s list for the Spring 2013 semester. Behnke is an undecided major. She is the daughter of Steven and Larri Behnke.

The Dean’s list recognizes students with a semester grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale. Dean Sortor said in a press release, “These students have distinguished themselves among a talented and highly qualified student body. We celebrate their success in gaining recognition for academic excellence.”

Haines High School seniors honored in memory of Eric McDowell

Friends of the late Eric McDowell created a plaque to honor his memory and attendance at Haines High School. McDowell was a graduate of Haines High School and attended the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He was an athlete, excelling in basketball, as well as a musician. He established the McDowell Group and left a legacy in Southeast Alaska. Two students were honored this year, seniors Patrick Henderson and Alisha Young. Henderson will attend Gonzaga University and Young will attend Fort Lewis College.

Washington State University

The President’s Honor Roll recognizes students who stand above the rest with excellent academic performance. To be eligible for the honor roll, undergraduate students must be enrolled in a minimum of nine graded hours in a single term at Washington State University and earn a grade point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

From Juneau, honor roll recipients were Ashlie Ellen Kikendall, Ethan Cody Roemeling, Matthew Ryan Staley, Sierra Dawn Tagaban and Gabrielle I. Zigarlick.

Fort Lewis College

Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colo. saw more than 400 students graduate in the April commencement ceremony, including Juneau residents Robert Hickok with a Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology, Sarrah Matheny with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Human Services with a criminology focus, and David McCasland, magna cum laude, with a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry.

Creighton University

The Dean’s List recipients for Juneau at Creighton University in Omaha, Neb., full-time students who rank in the top 10 percent of their class for the semester and earn a 3.5 grade-point average or better on a 4.0 scale, were Merijke Coenraad, Rachelle Eriksen and Kayla Janelle.

Presentation College

Presentation College has announced the President’s List and Dean’s List for the Spring 2013 semester. To qualify for the President’s List, students must earn a 4.0 grade point average for the semester. Students maintaining a 3.5 grade point average or greater are included on the Dean’s List. From Juneau, Justin Brooks made the list.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






JDHS student selected for Murkowski internship

Joseph Monsef of Juneau-Douglas High School has been named a summer intern for U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska. Each year, interns from Alaska high schools... Read more

Thanks for supporting Juneau’s only adult day program

Thanks to the funding provided, The Bridge is able to offer services that allow seniors to remain in their homes for as long as possible,... Read more