Academic recognitions for the week of Jan. 12, 2014

Lenka Craigova of Juneau was named to the dean’s list at St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisc. A minimum GPA of 3.5 is required.

Olivia Shrum of Juneau was named to the dean’s list at the University of Evansville in Indiana. Shrum is a theatre major and earned a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Jake Andrew Mason of Juneau graduated with a bachelor of arts degree in history and English, with a minor in political science from Dallas Baptist University during winter commencement. Mason was part of the Phi Alpha Theta honors society and received the History Recognition award for the College of Humanities. He was also named to the dean’s honor roll.

Juneau residents made the dean’s and president’s list at Montana State University. Alejandro Botelho-Alvarez made the president’s list with a 4.0 GPA. Anthony Stewart, James Busch, Matthew Campbell, Kaitlin Cunningham, Kaci Hansen, Mercedes Munoz and Lawrence Perkins made the dean’s list, with a 3.5 or higher GPA.

Anna Margaret Rivers of Juneau was named to the dean’s list for Charleston Southern University in South Carolina, having earned a 3.5 or higher GPA.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Students participate in district spelling bee

On February 12, 17 students participated in the district spelling bee. These students had already won their class bees and school bees. Students from 3rd-8th... Read more

Thank you Petro Marine Services and Lindsey family

We live in a very generous community and state, and that generosity is very apparent every single day.

Read more

Recent births

Recent births at Barlett Regional Hospital:

Read more