Thank you for making SHI’s Tináa Art Auction a success

Thanks to the community of Juneau and the people who attended Sealaska Heritage Institute’s Tináa Art Auction for making it a big success. Thank you to the people who sponsored the event, bought tickets, made donations to the event, and purchased art and other items up for auction. Because of you, we raised nearly $200,000 for SHI’s new endowment, which will ensure that SHI’s programming will benefit future generations and the public. A huge thanks to the following who made the auction successful:


Live auction artists and donors: David A. Boxley, Delores Churchill, Robert Davidson, Jerrod Galanin, Nathan Jackson, Louise Kadinger, Sonya Kelliher-Combs, Spirit Wrestler Gallery, Duane Pasco, Preston Singletary, Ray Watkins, Crystal Worl.

Silent auction artists and donors: 2 Friends Gallery, David R. Boxley, Lois Chichinoff Thadei, Robert Davidson, Ronnie Fairbanks, Phyllis Fast, Rose Fraker, Deborah Frank-McLavey, Chloe French, Nicholas Galanin, Marcus Gho, Janine Gibbons, Pat Glascock, Donald Gregory, Michael Hall, Lani Hotch, Da-ka-xeen Mehner, Vivian Mork, Pack Rat Antiques, Corinne Parker, Richard Poor, Benjamin Schleifman, Christopher Smith., Renee St. Onge, Steinbrueck Gallery, Art Thompson, Art Torres, Andrew Tripp, Rico Worl, Kinsie Young and Jennifer Younger.

Sponsors: Main Sponsor, Sealaska; Copper Sponsor: Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC); Gold Sponsor: Behrends Mechanical; Silver Sponsors: Alaska Litho, Alaska Native Studies Council, Anderson Brothers Electric, LLC, Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, Elgee Rehfeld Mertz, LLC, First Alaskans Institute, Huna Totem Corporation, Jack Ferguson & Associates, Inc., Juneau Arts and Humanities Council, McDowell Group, MRV Architects, PDC Engineers, Sealaska Shareholder Relations and Community Engagement, Simpson, Tillinghast, Sorensen & Sheehan, P.C., Tlingit and Haida Regional Housing Authority, University of Alaska Southeast, Worl Family and Wostmann & Associates, Inc.; Contributing Sponsors: Alaskan Brewing Co., Amalga Distillery, Art Matters, Geoff Bacon, Breeze In, Dawson Construction, Rachael DeMarce, Rainy Retreat Books—sponsor of the Flustered Cluckers band—Heritage Coffee, Káawu Oyster Co., Miss Scarlett’s Flowers, Safeway and Salon Cedar.

Fashion show (designers, models, supporters and organizers): Director, Amber-Dawn Bear Robe; Designers: Violet Dawn Ahmie, Pamela Baker, Barbara Fujimoto, Marcus Gho, Dorothy Grant, Louise Kadinger, Sandra Marion, Patricia Michaels, Rochelle Smallwood, Maria Shaa Tláa Williams, Crystal Worl; DJ, Celeste Worl; Hair and makeup support, Salon Cedar with Todd Antioquia, Tanner Butler, Keegan Carroll, Farrah Davis, Dawn Jouppi, Celia Maltalto and Brendan Sullivan; Models, Mary Aparezuk, Geoffrey Bacon, Nancy Evelyn Barnes, Kirsten Barry, Annie Bartholomew, Erika Bergren, Anna Chiburis, Pamela Dalton Stearns, Farrah Davis, Rachael Demarce, Alayna Duncan, Dorian Dundas, Marleina Dundas, Amber Frommherz, Kira Frommherz, Angel Fujimoto, Rae Fulmer, Yolanda Fulmer, Janine Gibbons, Donnie Gott, Desiree Jackson, Alona Johnson, Brandon Johnson, Rosemary Kiessling, Summer Koester, Melissa Kookesh, Kylie Kulbeth, Karen Lovett, Kylynn Machir, Stephanie Masterman, Maka Monture, Anya Nelson, Allyson Olds, Melissa Patterson, Élise Pypært, Jimena Ramirez, David Russell-Jensen, Elizabeth Seliotes, Angela Shipley, Mandy Toong and Shauna Velasco; Special guest, Miss Alaska USA 2017 Alyssa London.

Volunteers: Geoffrey Bacon, Sigrid Dahlberg, Rachael Demarce, Kyle Demientieff-Worl, Casey Hamilton, Forest Haven, Laura Haywood, Jasmine James, Leonilei Johnson-Abbott, Susie Jones, Kelly Karl, Tara Kulbeth, Conor O’Dea, Elizabeth Seliotes, Cameron Sell, Angela Shipley, Britta Tonnessen, Andrew Washburn, Sierra Wilson.

Other talent: Host, Albert Kookesh; Auctioneer: Jeff Boehm; Lighting: Bill Conrow; Sound engineer: Betsy Sims; Carpenter, Earl Schoonover.

Native Artist Committee: Nathan Jackson, Delores Churchill, Nicholas Galanin, Da-ka-xeen Mehner and Steve Brown.

Media: Journalist James Brooks and photojournalist Michael Penn from the Juneau Empire, journalist Geoff Kirsch from the Capital City Weekly, Sharon Gaiptman from KINY, Jeff Brown and Adelyn Baxter from KTOO, and photojournalist Sydney Akagi.

Rosita Worl, President

Sealaska Heritage Institute


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Practicing gratitude during and after the holidays

Starting about February every year I have been known to exclaim “It will be Christmas before you know it!” It’s perhaps an odd utterance since... Read more

Advent luncheon scheduled

The Cooperative Church Council is sponsoring its annual Advent Luncheon at Northern Light United Church on Thursday, Dec. 7 at noon. Father Stephen from Saint... Read more

Corey Wall joins Jensen Yorba Lott, Inc.

Juneau architectural firm Jensen Yorba Lott, Inc. is pleased to announce the addition of local architect Corey Wall to our team. Jensen Yorba Lott Inc... Read more