Central Council forms Constitutional Committee

The Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska has announced the members of its Constitutional Committee, according to a Tuesday press release. The eight delegates will be tasked with revisiting the tribe’s governing documents and proposing amendments at the 82nd Tribal Assembly in Juneau April 19-21.

The group, comprised of representatives from eight different tribal communities, will meet weekly or biweekly for the next few months to consider and draft proposed amendments. Tribal citizens are encouraged to contact committee members directly or to pass questions, comments or ideas to their local representatives. The Central Council posts a list of tribal delegates (Juneau has 26) at ccthita.org.

Constitutional Committee members include: Will Micklin, chair (San Fransisco); Tasha Hotch (Anchorage); James Hart (Haines); Ken Southerland (Juneau); Henrich Kadake (Kake); Marsha Ramirez (Ketchikan); Yodean Armour (Klawock) and Tate London (Seattle).

The committee will present their proposed amendments to all Central Council delegates present at April’s Tribal Assembly. Amendments must be approved by an affirmative vote of two-thirds of the attending delegates unless amendments are provided in written form 90 days before the assembly convenes.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback