Girl Scouts celebrate 100th birthday by starting first honorary troop in Alaska

JUNEAU — Alaska is about to get another Girl Scout Troop, but this one is a little bit out of the ordinary. As part of the 100th Anniversary Celebration for the Girl Scouts of America, the first honorary troop will be established in the 49th State.

Inaugural Members of Honorary Troop 49 will include Senators Bettye Davis, Linda Menard, Lesil McGuire and Cathy Giessel, Representatives Anna Fairclough, Berta Gardner, Sharon Cissna, Lindsey Holmes, Mia Costello, Beth Kerttula, Charisse Millett, Cathy Muñoz, Peggy Wilson and Tammy Wilson, Commissioners Susan Bell, Cora Campbell and Becky Hultberg, as well as, First Lady Sandy Parnell.

Senator Bettye Davis and Representative Anna Fairclough will serve as co-chairs for Troop 49.

Alaskan Girl Scout Leaders say the Alaska’s female lawmakers are powerful role models for girls and young ladies all around the state.

“The honorary Girl Scout Troop will allow us to harness that power and share it with girls and women around the state as we continue to build girls of courage, confidence, and character to make the world a better place,” said Marge Larson, CEO of the Girl Scouts of Alaska.

The Investiture Ceremony for Troop 49 was hosted by First Lady Sandy Parnell at noon on Tuesday at the Governor’s House.

Traditionally, Investiture Ceremonies welcome new members, girls or adults, into the Girl Scout family for the first time. As part of the ceremony, each new member says the Girl Scout Promise, receives the official Girl Scout Pin, and is welcomed into Girl Scouting. On Tuesday, the “pinning” was performed by the Juneau Girl Scouts.

For more information, contact Celeste Hodge, in Senator Davis’ office, at 465-3822.


Buckwheat Classic registration opens

Registration is now open for the 31st annual Buckwheat Ski Classic. The cross-country ski race will be held on March 25 on the Log Cabin Ski Trails north of Skagway and include 50K, 25K and 10K classic races as well as a 5K kids race.

Read more

Unit 4 fur season to end

The season for marten, mink, weasel and river otter in Unit 4 (Admiralty, Baranof and Chichagof Islands) ended Wednesday. Beaver season remains open through April 30.

Read more

Fireside Lecture on Southeast’s ancient shorelines

Geologist Jim Baichtal will discuss revising old theories regarding how life adapted to Southeast Alaska’s ancient ice sheets during today’s Fireside Lecture at the Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center.

Read more


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback