Eaglecrest announces 32nd annual Learn to Ski winners

The winners for the 32nd annual Learn to Ski Weekend, happening Satruday and Sunday, at Eaglecrest Ski Area have been chosen.

The weekend begins with an orientation for participants and their parents beginning at 6:30 p.m. on Friday in the CBJ Assembly Chambers.

A total of 45 youngsters from the third, fourth and fifth grades were randomly selected this week to receive free bus transportation, ski rentals, lift tickets, ski lessons and lunch at Eaglecrest.

“This event has a long history of introducing Juneau children to the sport of skiing and would not be possible without the ongoing sponsorship of Mendenhall Auto Center Subaru” Jeffra Clough, Director of Sales/Marketing and Snowsports School, said. “This is a very special weekend and a favorite for all of the staff”.

Participants were contacted by telephone on Thursday to confirm their attendance.

Winners for this year’s event are:

Torretto Abbott

Tyler Anderson

Kareena Bathija

Jonathon Bennett

Eliya Blomquist

Hannah Capua

Samantha Church

Erin Cole

Kinsen Dapcevich

Jeremiah Duncan-Willard

Kaden Eppers

Gage Ernzen

Esperanza Garcia

Liam Godfrey

Benjamin Gonzalez

Gavin Green

Jack Gregson

Riley Harp

Xander Healey

Remington Howell

Trinity Jackson

Mason Jacobs

Tanner Jourdan

Amanda Lee

Ethan Moon

Isaiah Nelson

Theoren Nelson

Thomas Osborne

William Philip

Katelyn Rathbone

Kolbe Rinehart

Jaden Rodriguez

Christopher “Jaryn” Sagrado

Ezekiel Sanders

Karthik Sanguni

Kaia Smith

Alee Sowell

Korra Stephens

Malikhi Tally

CJ Terrill

Braydon Wagner

Carter Walker

Remington Wiley

Samantha Wiley

Natalie Wittwer


Fri, 01/20/2017 - 09:03

New plants appear in Kenai as climate shifts

KENAI — Are exotic plants still exotic when the climate around them changes so that they fit right in?

Read more
Fri, 01/20/2017 - 09:02

Wild Shots


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback