Ben Jahn selected first team all state football

Thunder Mountain’s Ben Jahn was the lone medium division southeast conference player, and only Falcon, to be selected to the first team of the 2011 Alaska Football Coaches Association all–state football team on Sunday.


Seven Falcons and seven of their southeast conference opponents were dispersed among the second and honorable mention teams in a selection that was dominated by the Northern Lights conference.

Following are the selections:

Offensive Player of the Year — AJ Hull, Kenai;

Defensive Player of the Year — Auston Tennis, Soldotna;

Lineman of the Year — Drew Raymond, Homer;

Assistant Coach of the Year — Jim Dawson, Kenai;

Coach of the Year — Cam Wyatt, Homer;

First Team Offense: Return specialist — AJ Hull, Kenai; Long snapper — Tyler Marcuson, Soldotna; Kicker — Jake Wells, Houston; Center — Cody Clendenen, Skyview; Guard — Daniel Carlson, Kenai; Drew Raymond, Homer; Tackle — Tyler Marcuson, Soldotna; Alex Nason, Kenai; Wide receiver — Albert White, Skyview; Ben Jahn, Thunder Mountain; Tight end — Scott DeLauder, Eielson; Fullback — Tyler Barron, Houston; Quarterback — AJ Hull, Kenai; Running back — Dyllan Day, Homer; Auston Tennis, Soldotna.

First Team Defense: Utility player — Desmond Smith, Seward; Punter — Caleb McLaren, Delta; Outside linebacker — Scott DeLauder, Eielson; Garrett Bosick, Soldotna; Interior lineman — Tyler Marcuson, Soldotna; Drew Raymond, Homer; Alex Rodriguez, Skyview; Alex Nason, Kenai; Inside linebacker — Zane Miller, Soldotna; Kyle Dougherty, Kenai; Defensive back — AJ Hull, Kenai; Robin Glosser, Homer; Auston Tennis, Soldotna.

Second Team Offense: Return specialist — Scooter Bynum, Monroe; Long snapper — Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski; Kicker — Eddie Benson, Barrow; Center — Allen Oskolkoff, Nikiski; Guard — Nathaniel Samuelu, Barrow; Henry Eide, Nikiski; Tackle — Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski; LeDarius Milton, Monroe; Wide receiver — Colton Young, Soldotna; Scooter Bynum, Monroe; Tight end — Garrett Bosick, Soldotna; Fullback — Josh Brown, Nikiski; Quarterback — Camden Thomas, Thunder Mountain; Caleb McLaren, Delta; Running back — Luke Purschwitz, Ketchikan; John Jolly, Thunder Mountain.

Second Team Defense: Utility player — Cody Williams, Skyview; Punter — AJ Hull, Kenai; Outside linebacker — Stephen Hartley, Nikiski; Albert White, Skyview; Interior lineman — Shawn Smith, Eielson; Ledarius Milton, Monroe; Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski; Villi Tupou, Thunder Mountain; Inside linebacker — Kaden Spurgeon, Nikiski; Nathaniel Samuelu, Barrow; Defensive back — Scooter Bynum, Monroe; Colin Long, Barrow; Eric Reyna, Thunder Mountain.

Honorable Mention Offense: Center — Darius Samuelu, Barrow; Josh Tupou, Thunder Mountain; Guard — Matt Crooks, Eielson; Taylor McLaren, Ketchikan; Tackle — Emanuel Samuel, Barrow; Wide receiver — Joe Ia, Thunder Mountain; Charlie Tappen, Delta; Tight end — Nels Svenson, Sitka; Quarterback — Colton Anderson, Nikiski; Running back — Kaden Spurgeon, Nikiski; James Holmes, Monroe.

Honorable Mention Defense: Utility player — Shiloh Mackey, Ketchikan; Outside linebacker — Luke Purschwitz, Ketchikan; Interior lineman — Seth Feldpausch, Sitka; Lisita Tuai, Barrow; Inside linebacker — Jorge Vasquez, Thunder Mountain; Matt Tallman, Eielson; Defensive back — Charlie Tappen, Delta; Jovante Kincade, Eielson; Mitchell Boord, Sitka.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback